What’s your top 3 qualities that you look for in friends?

Back from last weeks nostalgic soon to be series of  poker philosophy and this week introducing a new series again:

Top 3’s 

This series will be more of a quick post venture in the future, as I use these posts as a pretext to sort random stuff out in my head.

I think I got the inspiration to start a list of top 3’s when asked what my favourite movies were. Not an uncommon question I might presume. The thing is that I am quite a movie freak and with many, many movies I have had the spontaneous reaction that this has to belong to my top 3(5,10, etc.). So many movies have gained that reaction that when I thought about my favourite movies, the list was considerably overpopulated.

At that point I realized that I need to sort things out. I thought long and hard and finally came up with it:

1. Shaun of the Dead

2. Lord of the Rings Trilogy( Yes, trilogy. Because when you want to watch LotR, you go for the marathon every time.)

3. American Psycho

And I won’t even do honourable mentions or top 5 or 10, because then I could not stop. The human mind works better, when there are less aspects to concentrate on.(*) So when thinking about important thoughts or just thoughts, it is better to keep it as clear as you can.

Now, what I learned from that concentrated list making was that:

1.It was harder than one might think

2. It was fun

3. The act itself is very useful as you discover a lot about yourself

And because I saw so much good coming out of only one list of three, I decided to start questioning myself about 3’s in other matters. It is a really fun way to get to know yourself. And for a real life example, if you are, for instance, at a job interview, you are bound to leave a very good impression  to a potential employer, when he asks something about yourself and you already have a top 3 answer waiting to be unleashed at moments notice. No awkward silence.

So, without further ado, my own answer. Without these 3, I have found that people tend to stay in the “acquaintance” compartment:

1. Depth

2. Humour

3. Honesty

Be sure to think about this question yourself and maybe even let others know in the comments.

Stay classy, San Diego.

The World's End movie

Ah, coming out soon to please my senses

 

(*) And many other interesting ways to make yourself more effective and see how people act irrationally in a great book by James Montier, „The Little Book of Behavioral Investing“

Leave a Reply

